Dasein, Red Elephant.



Please Plant this Book. Richard Brautigan.

I came across a pretty cool website which has put up aRichard Brautigan’s Please Plant This Book, a 1968 books that consists of eight packets of garden seeds, each with an imprinted poem. Why the act of planting text into the earth? Each poem reads like a tangible ray of hope and a prayer that is offered to the living. I somehow feel that Brautigan is weary of too much knowing and has chosen to replace knowledge with begone innocence. Even thoughts buried in soil, will eventually decay.

Flash Version of the book | Text Version of the Book

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Xine says:

    I love the idea of planting seeds taken from packets of poetry. I do the same thing, I observe and venerate the small.

    I came across your site b/c I just joined Metaxu Cafe and did a search for other like-minded Canadians.

    I am intrigued by the title of your blog.

    Xine from http://www.chicken-scratch.ca

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  2. * gerg says:

    Thanks for posting this, I’d heard of the book before but never read the poems, much less seen such a nice presentation. Came across your blog looking for Brautigan stuff and glad I found it.

    Cheers.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  3. sweetening periphery eireannach pokeloken delitescent portrayable stasis bebothered
    Fourteen held in Massoud death probe
    http://www.cabomarina.com.mx/

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

